The 12th century abbey at Croxden was home to 70 Cistercian monks at its peak. Although converted into a farm after its suppression in 1538, the remains are impressive, including towering fragments of its 13th century church, infirmary and 14th century abbot’s lodging.
Croxden Abbey was begun in 1179 after Bertram de Verdun, an important local nobleman, granted land to a community of Cistercian monks in 1176. At its peak in the 13th century, Croxden housed about 70 monks. Following the monastery’s suppression in 1538 the abbey and its lands were converted into a farm. The visible remains today include parts of the abbey church, which was one of the most elaborate churches of any Cistercian abbey in England, together with the infirmary and abbot’s lodging.
For wedding or commercial photography requests, please contact the regional office on 0117 975 0700.
- April to October Daily 10:00am – 5:00pm
- November to March Daily 10:00am – 4:00pm
Access: Access the abbey via Croxden Lane. The ruins sit on a grassy area, which may be uneven in places. There are a few slopes and steps down to access various parts of the ruins.
Parking: There is very limited parking in the layby at the site entrance. Please avoid parking on the grass verges or blocking access for local residents.
📸 Discover East Staffordshire
Click on the first image to start the slide show